Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Count Your Blessings - Days 11 and 12

Adults

Colombia has the second highest number of internally displaced people in the world. In the last 25 years, the armed conflict has forced more than 8% of the population off their land. Christian Aid partners, local communities and their leaders, like Misael risk their lives to speak out, calling on the government to protect their lives and their rights.


Pray for safety and strength for people all over the world who face violence and persecution for taking a stand against injustice.

Children

Licri Bueno is from the Dominican Republic, a beautiful country in the Caribbean. Lots of people there live in poverty. Licri’s mum was helped by Christian Aid partner Solidaridad Fronteriza to set up a vegetable garden. The garden means that Licri and his family are able to grow lots of healthy food! Licri often helps his mum in the garden and with lots of other household chores too. Offer to help your family or neighbours with chores in exchange for a small donation for Christian Aid. You could offer to help wash the car or dig the garden.


Again, as I read these challenges, a song or two came into my head, I opted for this one, and then added my own response...

 

 

I will speak out for those who have no voices,

I will stand up for the rights of all the oppressed;

I will speak truth and justice,

I’ll defend the poor and the needy,

I will lift up the weak in Jesus’ name.

 

I will speak out for those who have no choices,

I will cry out for those who live without love;

I will show God’s compassion

To the crushed and broken in spirit,

I will lift up the weak in Jesus’ name.

Dave Bankhead, Sue Rinaldi, Ray Goudie &Steve Bassett.

                Copyright © 1990 Word’s Spirit of Praise  Music/Adm. by CopyCare

 

 

But will I turn my song to actions?

And will I live the faith I claim?

And will I be the face of Jesus

In a world of endless grief and pain?

I am weak, and flawed, and broken,

I am compromised and torn

Yet, this need must find expression...

Even if all I do is pray.

 

My Pledge

Today - I will pray for those who stand up for injustice

Total - £12.10, three prayers and a little strop!

The comments are closed.