Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Count Yours Blessings: Day 28

Adults

2 million deaths every year are a result of exposure to indoor smoke from cooking fuels.

Give 40p if your oven runs on electricity or gas


Yesterday in a very brief post I alluded to how different my week could have been.  Today's CYB (Count Your Blessings) comes scarily close to part of that.  A major fire round the corner from my home on Sunday night has left several people temporarily homeless, with some having to be treated for smoke inhalation.  As I read the CYB leaflet I thought "ouch".

In the UK people use disposable barbecues or camping stoves indoors with, sometimes tragic consequences, either because they are unaware of the risks or because they think it won't happen to them.  Maybe some have been unable to afford electricity or gas so resort in desperation to other means?  And then of course there are faulty appliances and unscrupulous landlords to think about...

Anyhow, back to the blessing counting... I have an electric oven and will cheerfully pay my 40p


My pledge

Today - 40p

Total - £24.25, five prayers, one rant, one memory and one e-petition signed

The comments are closed.