Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Good Instincts and Bad Ideas

The time spent in Morcambe was fun.  But this is a more serious post, arsnig one from one of the things we encountered that was less than helpful.

As we strolled along the prom on a lovely sunny morniong, I looked ahead and saw a huge banner/flag thing (the kind you get at  garages or outside shops) that said HEALING.  I turned to the other 'vicar' and said 'does that say what I think it says?'   'Yes,' she replied, 'and it's almost certainly dodgy.'  As we reached them, we were approached by someone holding out a leaflet, and politely declined.  The same happened as we strolled back an hour later, and a third time as we were on our way to afternoon tea.

This third time, the man tried to engage us in conversation, saying 'I knew you'd say that' (i.e. no thanks) 'so who are you?'  So I told him adding '... and two of us are vicars.'  I walked on further and yet another person tried to offer us a leaflet.  When we reached our destination, 'Vicar 2' said that she too had been stopped and had given more or less the same answer, adding 'and by the way, I'm a hospital chaplain'... at which point evidently said man scurried off rather quickly.

The instincts these folk had - that there are hurting and sick people who might appreciate prayer and might experience some form of healing through that - were good; their ideas and approach were bad.  Since I got home I googled the organsiation of which they were part, and found the website, which included prayers for good weather and that the wind was 'not to strong' (sic) as this would make things difficult.  I admire anyone who has the courage of their convictions to the extent that they will stand up in a public place and risk ridicule or rejection.  But I don't admire the daft, dodgy and downright dangerous theology that is peddled, often by innocent and ignorant well-meaning people caught in the aura of some charismatic leader.

The comments are closed.