Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Pointless Knowledge...

Yesterday I was watching Pointless (a repeat but I hadn't seen it before).  The 'head-to-head' round required the contestants to:

  • identify upper case Greek letters
  • identify British national parks from their initial and final letters
  • answer questions on the 1980s miners' strike

At the end of the round Richard Osman said "and especially welldone to anyone at home who got all fifteen answers'.... that'd be me then!

 

In 1985 I was in my final year of my engineering degree and had to write an essay on the role of power in the miner's strike... I wrote to both Arthur Scargill and Roy Lynk of the UDM so those questions were a gift.  (The letter to Mr Scargill came back to me marked 'gone away' I kept it for many years as it made me laugh)

I have walked in most of the national parks they listed, but was secretly pleased that I reocngised Pembrokeshire Coast (the lest known answer)

Greek letters - well any scientist or theologian really ought to know those, epseically as they were sigma, omega, delta, theta and psi.  Easy peasy!

Just a shame I have no idea when it comes to films and sport!

The comments are closed.