Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Last Fruits

This afternoon I grubbed up and disposed of the triffids (tomato plants) that have graced my kitchen window cill (sill?) all summer.  As I did so, I garnered one final harvest of small green triffidberries:

002.JPG Not enough to do anything much with (would be a very teeny batch of triffedberry chutney, and I had fried green triffidberries yesterday) but I will put them to use.

Now I have daylight in my kitchen and, shock horror, a view!

I have enjoyed growing the tomatoes, which have yielded a steady supply all summer long.  Now it is time to return the plants to the earth as compost, their work complete, harvest gathered.

That bit in the vine image/parable of John 15 about branches being torn off and burned is not (imo) about worthlessness or waste, it is about a use once the function of fruit-bearing is over.  As my tomato plants and the compost in which they grew go the way of all flesh (and plants) they will enrich the good earth for another season... so the last fruits pave the way for the new growing season.

The comments are closed.