Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

More Light and Truth

Back to work, and back to sermon preparation - the day has flown by between chossing hymns, sorting out the all age bit, doing a bit of exegesis and wondering quite where my mulling will lead me.

Out of curiosity, I decided to do a quick search of my sermons/services ranging back over a deacde or so, to see when else, and on what themes, I have used one of the passages that the lectionary offers for this coming Sunday... it turns out I've used it six times, three of those in the last four years!

Isaiah 42: 1 - 9 has prompted thoughts on...

  • resurrection (or more specifically characteristics of 'being a place called resurrection'*)
  • mission
  • prophets
  • active waiting
  • Pentecost (action of God's spirit)

None of which is where we are headed this week and each of which still seems to be a justifiable use of the verses.  All of which illustrates, were illustration needed, that there is always more light and truth waiting to be released using words from the Word that speaks of the WORD (assuming your knowledge of Barth is up to that allusion!).

I guess what I like is that whatever theme or scheme we dream up (or assert that God gives us) the same ancient texts still have something to say.  This week... ah, that'd be telling!

 

* in Leicestershire there is a place called Anstey, a name which derives from anastasis, which in turn means 'resurrection'.  This inspired me to ponder what it might mean to be a place called 'resurrection'.

The comments are closed.