Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Do Not Worry About Tomorrow...

These words from the Sermon on the Mount are words I've heard times without number over the years, and often with the sermon or commentary conveying a sense that you shouldn't waste you time planning ahead (especially in the lgiht of that parable about the man who built bigger and bigger barns...).  I have never been entirely convinced.

Having the rug of 'taken-for-grantedness' firmly tugged from under my feet back in 2010 (golly, how long ago that is!) not planning too far into the future has become an unthinking default in its own right.  In the early days that made sense as there were always going to be new things cropping up that would have to displace my plans.

Towards the end of last year, two things happened to change that.  Firstly, when chatting to my BCN (Breast Care Nurse) I mentioned that my trip to New Zealand would need to be fitted around my annual check-up... she was stern but right in her reply: never fit your life around these appointments, they are moveable it's not that critical.  Secondly, as I noted a few blog posts ago, I was (finally) discharged by the plastics people.  In some small way, these two changes liberated me from a perceived tyranny of not planning, or at least not planning further than a few weeks ahead.  Significant control, or at least self-determination, was returned to me, and it felt good.

This morning I sat down with a year planner to transcribe from my diary the things already in place, and to begin to think about a shape for the year ahead.  So, the Lent study series is in, as are several meetings of committees or organisations.  The monthly home communions are planned in, along with some key dates for the Commonwealth Games when we might  be opening our doors to the general public.  And the dates are in for the next set of Advent reflections!

I still don't take the future for granted - I'm not sure I ever will entirely - but it seems safe enough, and realistic enough, to make some medium term plans.  I think my congregation have been very long suffering as I've plodded along never looking far forward these past three years or so, and I hope that now we will be able to be a teeny bit more adventurous as we dare to look to a farther horizon.  I find I feel more energised and enthused than I have for some time

 

Lilies don't spin or weave, and they are beautiful;

However fleeting, they send forth seeds in the hope of another sowing, another flowering.

Birds do not sow or reap or store in barns

But they carry with them the seeds that will, somewhere, some when, feed a new generation

 

Don't worry about tomorrow

Don't expend your energy if 'what ifs', 'SWOTs' and endless risk assessments

Live today to its maximum potential

And scatter your dreams and reasonable expectations

For another tomorrow -

If not for yourself, then for those who will follow

 

Decadent God, who dresses hillsides with flowers

And fills the air with birdsong

Show us to live

Present-minded hopefulness

That inspires, anticipates and even precipitates

Tomorrow's promises fulfilled

The comments are closed.