Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Bits 'n' Bobs

Today has an odd start as I have an appointment at 10:30 to get my new lympohedema sleeve and glove... as my right hand is puffed up and straigthening my fingers hurts, I will be very glad to get it squished! 

Anyway, I have already done Sunday's PowerPoint and a round up of blogs and social media stuff...

New Blogger on the Block, well kind of, is Ruth my former research superivsor, preacher-inner and I like to think, friend.  I am looking forward to reading her musings and hope she will get some fun from blogging along the way.

Since (metaphorically) getting my fingers badly burned a couple of years back, I've been much more wary about linking cancer blogs.  But this one has been recommended to me by both ministers and medics and I've followed it on and off for a while.  It seems to be gaining a higher profile of late, is clearly genuine, and is a thoughtful, intelligent read.

I'm not a fan of soap operas, though ocassionally I succomb to 'River City' just because it's set in Glasgow.  Last night the Eastenders breast cancer story began in earnest, and for some reason it was on in the background as I did other stuff.  I think what surprised me was the detailed diagnosis and outline treatment plan that were given - a credible and realistic portrayal, but unusual.  Assuming they are sticking with a primary cancer story line, and assuming the script writer miracle cure doesn't arise, they are committing themsleves to a year long storyline - neoadjuvant chemo, mastectomy and radiotherapy.  I'm not suddenly going to become an Eastenders watcher, but if they manage a credible protrayal there is a lot of good that can be done.  In case anyone wonders, my diagnosis was different from that of 'Carol' but my treatment plan more or less the same; a credible portrayal won't be a copy of my experience, or anyone else's, but there should be moments that resonate.  Time will tell.

Looking forward to the rest of my week - plenty to occupy me one way and another.

The comments are closed.