Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Fitting Anniversary Markers...

I fly out to New Zealand on 10th Feb - exactly three years to the date from when I left hospital after my mastectomy.  I still had a drain in and would develop a persistent seroma that took several attempts to clear, was weak, weary and had restricted arm movement - but I was SO happy to be home again.

The conference is on 20th and 21st Feb - exactly two years since my then six-monthly check-up confirmed that I was officially one year disease free, one year NED.

I arrive home on 25th Feb - the date originally scheduled for my three year check-up, but which was brought forward a month on the advice of my team who told me 'never, ever, book your holidays round your appointments'... so sort of my three year NEDiversary.

Three years ago the idea that I would be heading off, on my own, to the far side of the planet, to speak at a conference would have seemed utterly ridiculous.  Now I am daring to dream little dreams and, whilst the shadows never quite disappear, I'm better at ignoring them!

Tomorrow will be the last of the packing and houseworking, a normal busy Sunday and then... wow, off I go!

Comments

  • SO appropriate, Catriona. Have a wonderful trip and I know your paper will go well.

The comments are closed.