Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Acknowledgements...

Well, I think I have now ticked all the essential boxes for my trip to NZ next week but there isn't enough space on the front of my conference paper for a list of those whose help, support and encouragement I'd like to acknowledge, so I'll do it here.  Thank you...

To W and to A who independently (they have never met to my knowledge) spotted the conference call for papers and suggested I submit one.... it's all your fault guys!

To the 24 people who repsonded to my sabbatical project questionnaire - that work is not reported in my paper but it certainly informed my thinking.  I will get it written up and some threads drawn.

To the Gatherers who have shared my 'journey' and who inspired aspects of the story I tell

To the medical professionals at WIG, Beatson WoSCC and GRI, especially Mr W and Sr McL, without whose care who knows if there would be a story to tell

To my GP and her practice staff who are always there - and who provided, free of charge, the necessary paperwork to enable me to take my drugs into NZ

To the women affected directly by breast cancer who have travelled with me and encouraged me to tell my story, especially SGs and Gs, and remembering L and C who died way too young

To the minister friends who reassured me that my thoughts were worthy (even without reading them!)

To D and A who read drafts, spotted typos, made encouraging noises and helped me craft a stronger ending

To those who have asked to read the paper once it has been presented, giving me confidence that my ideas will be received

To the people who gave me money for ice-creams in NZ

To the people who offered me lifts to or from the airport

To J who will care for Holly whilst I am away

To L who will preach the two Sundays I am absent

And to you, gentle readers, who politely read what I write, some long term cyber friends, others who land here via key word searches

 

I will carry all these people - and the ones I forgot to mention - in my heart as I fly to the far side of the planet, for all are part of my story.

 

 

 

The comments are closed.