Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Juxtapositioned

I happened to be in Auckland when two major public festivals were taking place - the celebration of the Chinese New Year and Auckland Pride.  The two seemed to coexist quite happily, with their major events on different days.

Whatever anyone may think about human sexuality and the rights or wrongs of its expression among people who profess Christian faith, it was interesting and challenging (in a good way) to see the sign outside the church opposite my hotel and the photo of some members of one of the churches I visited.

I leave it to you to ponder them and see where your ponderings take you...

NZ 123.JPG

ponsonby pride.jpg

First picture taken outside St Matthew in the City, Auckland (just along from Auckland City Mission - roots of course in GCM)

Second picture courtesy of Ponsonby Baptist Church, Auckland.

 

Comments

  • The 1st one makes me feel that as a single person I wouldn't be welcome....

  • Interesting, Pam, I felt that when I first saw it too - but I love it as a piece of art

The comments are closed.