Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Lent

It feels like I blinked and missed February (two weeks away but the way the dates landed left me with little or nothing of the month) and now it is Shrove Tuesday and no Lenten blogging plan even considered.  Should I do the lectionary readings or Christian Aid's blessing count, each of which has been my focus in past years?  Or should I parallel the people who so piously purport to abstain from social media for Lent and leave this space silent?  Or something else?  The last of these I think!

As so often in the past, I have bought the Archbishop of Canterbury's 'Lent Book', and to ensure I do actually read it I'll undertake to blog a response to each chapter.  The book is 'Looking Through the Cross' by Graham Tomlin, and there are nine chapters so that doesn't neatly divide between six weeks, but I'll make sure that I get through it in the time allocated and share some thoughts.

The poem a day for Advent seemed to be appreciated by those who read them - I have no neat source to plagiarise, but I'll undertake to post a poem a week for this Lent.  Probably it makes sense to do this on the same day of the week.  So I'll choose Wednesdays for no better reaoson than none.

I have to confess to having got out of the habit of reading most of the blogs I used to follow (some have stopped being wirtten, some I just forgot to read anymore!), so I will make a more conscious effort to read them and to share one post of interest each week.

Beyond that, people seem to like odd bits of prayer or liturgy that I share, and it's always nice to see some photos that carry a sense of 'hope' so I'll aim for some of those too...

So, I think what I'm saying is that each week there will be:

  • A response to one or two chapters of the archbish's book choice
  • A poem that somehow relates to the season (Wednesdays)
  • A signpost to a blog of interest
  • A photo that suggests 'hope'
  • A prayer, meditation or bit of liturgy by me, appropriate to the season

That means five posts a week (sustainable) and five different approaches, so hopefully something will appeal to most readers... and hopefully I won't run out of steam in week five!

Comments

  • I'm using that book too!

  • Sounds good to me. :-) I'm not feeling very organised about this Lent either, but something will come.

The comments are closed.