Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

It's been a joy...

Working with the lectionary gospel for the four middle Sundays of Lent.  Long, rich stories (my readers probably hate me by now!) of encounters between Jesus and various people named and unnamed, educated and uneducated, female and male, gentile and Jew, people with phyiscal disabilities and people without physical disabilties, people who are alive and people (well, one person) who are dead, people who worked out who he was and people he told who he was.  All that dualism being put to good use!

The ten minute silences have been engaged with, even by those who find it incredibly dififcult, and there have been some delightful responses to the pictures and poems we've shared.  I think that for most people, except those for whom either silence is scary or their constant companion at home, it has been valuiable to give it a go.  If nothing else, perhaps the experience of the person who lives alone is better understood by those who live with others.

I have been energised by the experiment, and have some ideas of things I want to try in the autumn (summer is pretty much planned already) that will help us explore other ways of engaging with scripture, other kinds of meditation, other approaches to preaching.  I'm not quite sure what that will look like, but it excites me - and I need a bit of excitement now and then!

The comments are closed.