Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Shhhhh.....

Four weeks of experimenting with use of prolonged silence in worship are now over.  I am really proud of how people stuck at it, even those who found it difficult or uncomfortable or unnatural.  I know, from the feedback I've had that many found it liberating, energising and encouraging.  So I have some ideas of how we might take that forward in the future.

We also had a nearly silent communion - simply a telling of the story with bread and wine shared in silence at the appropriate points.  It wasn't entirely successful, but people gave it go, and for that I am very grateful

Next Sunday will be a stark contrast - lots of action, lots of singing (well know stuff I hope, after the one this week I thought everyone in the whole wide world knew was unknown to all except one other person and me!!) and hopefully quite a lot of colour.

I love my church, and I love the willingness to try new things, just so long as it's not too much, too soon.... which is fair enough.

Comments

  • Silence in worship matters a lot to me and I'm glad your experiment worked so well.

The comments are closed.