Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Singing in the Rain

Well, walking in the rain with my MP3 player singing in my ears anyway.  A lovely walk from home to Glasgow Green along the Clyde followed by a roast dinner in Debenhams (other shops are available) before nipping into Paperchase (other....) to buy bits I need for tomorrow's service.

I love urban walking because it allows me to admire the diversity of architecture and to see things I would miss if I was in a car, bus or train.  The Clyde Walkway has some wonderful things to see including this statue:

pasionara.jpg

Bearing the inscription "it is better to die standing than to live forever on your knees" it commemorates Glaswegians who died in the Spanish Civil War

pasionara 2.jpg

A cry for freedom, a desire to be fully alive, if only briefly rather than endure endless, dull existence.  So it is a cry of hope, a willingness to sacrifice, a daring to dream.  Powerful stuff.

My walk was around about six miles plus a bit of shopping, lunching and then a train home, combining some errands for church, some leisure and some training for next month's Pink Ribbon Walk.  In some odd way, the words on the statue resonated with me as I tramped along the footpath... none of us knows how much life we have measured in hours and minutes, but we do have freedom to choose how we live it.  Singing in the rain seems a good choice to me!

 

Photos borrowed from the web.

 

The comments are closed.