Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

An Extra Mile... and a Dream

Last night's training yomp ended up a mile longer than intended, but was no less fun for that and, in fact, showed enough increase in speed that I completed 8 miles in the same time I was doing 7 a week ago.  The extra mile arose because it was pouring with rain and hood up, head down, I took the wrong side of a fork in the road and didn't realise until I was a good half mile along it and diverging further from my intended route.  Ah well.

All of which got me thinking a bit about metaphorical "extra miles", what they look like and whether they have to be consciously chosen or can arise simply by dint of circumstance.  No useful answers on that front, but it did lead me on to thinking about charity fundraising and wondering how much of it is associated with people walking, running, climbing, cycling, kayaking etc. lots and lots of miles.  From cancer to mental health, overseas mission to humanitarian aid, people are sponsored to participate in physical challenges that they may (or may not) enjoy.  Wouldn't it be good, I thought, if it wasn't necessary to raise money for these assorted charities - not because some mythical "they" should fund the research, support, welfare, aid etc. from a bottomless supply of money, but because there was no longer any need to raise money as the issues had been resolved.

 

I dream of day when the research instituions can close their doors

I dream of a day when the support charities can disconnect their helplines

I dream of a day when justgving and virgin money disappear from the web

I dream of a day when giftaid is a thing of the past

I dream of a day when no-one runs marathons, jumps out of planes or sits in a bath of beans

I dream of a day with no coffee mornings, strawberry teas or ethnically themed suppers

I dream of a day when there are no more tears, or sorrow, or death

I dream of a such  day - and I believe, if not in my lifetime, it will come

 

I dare to dream, not because I am naive or idealistic, but because I believe the promises of God to be trustworthy and my hope is centred upon them.

Walk an extra mile - too true I will, if it brings that dream a step closer, because I suspect until the eschaton the anticipation of that dream is dependent upon it.

The comments are closed.