Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Privilege

I was walking back from the Coffee Club today with one of our folk, through the grounds of a set of four hospitals.  It was glorious weather and all around us were people soaking up the sun as they lunched or waited to visit friends and relatives.  As we walked and chatted a young woman caught up with us, commented on the weather then poured out her story to us... having been bereaved twice in as many years she was on her way to visit a relative having inpatient radiotherapy.  Discovering I was a NED seemed to cheer her, she needed some hopeful stories, and this, it seemed, was one.

Usually after Coffee Club I go to church to work but today was headed home to do a Powerpoint straight onto my laptop as this overcomes mis-matches between versions of the software.  Usually I don't end up in conversation with 'random' people but today I did.  Usually it isn't blistering hot in Glasgow either, but today it is.

It was a privilege, however hackneyed the word, to listen to this young woman's story and to wish her and her relative well.  And maybe, just maybe, somewhere in all of that God was adoing of something or other.  Maybe my friend and I were able to bring a little grace or hope to someone in need of both.

Comments

  • Oh, yes, God was at work there.

The comments are closed.