Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Eve of Referendum Prayer... and other things

I know that this blog is read by people around the world, because every now and then someone is kind enough to contact me by email or social media in response to something I've written.

In the last couple of days some of those same people have made mention on the upcoming referendum and how it is being reported globally - sometimes it would seem to the detriment of their own, local, and equally importnat, issues.

I have resisted making too many comments on my opinions which have, as any good Scot might express it, swithered and, despite at times having thought I had decided (both ways) I am still in one final swither (using my English habit of transforming verbs to nouns and vice versa).

Tomorrow Scotland decides and then we - all of us, Scotland, currently-constituted-UK, world - begin to work out the 'what next'.

Into that context where hope and fear, dread and excitement, rhetoric and vitriol abound, I offer two things, a quote from today's Financial Times (borrowed from a friend and unverified by me, the words are wise even though economics is only one part of the considerations) and a prayer from the Church of Scotland.

I'm afraid social media has shown me too many Christians, let alone others, being less than gracious in their comments and observations (and I know I've been grumpy and stroppy in real life) so I am not allowing comments on this post.  It will be what it will be, what matters is how we bring Gospel into whatever it is.

 

John Kay in the Financial Times:

"Stop the scaremongering - Scotland can prosper, Yes or No!!!!!

The present debate is demeaned by posturing and scaremongering on both sides. Scotland has prospered as part of a United Kingdom and could prosper as an independent country. Which course is more appropriate is a question of identity and values, not economics. And whatever outcome is declared on Friday morning, sensible people will work together to ensure that outcome produces the best possible economic result".

 

When you made me Lord,
you gave me the capacity to choose.
I live in a country, at a time in history
when I am given a vote.
Thank you for these privileges.
But sometimes I find choosing difficult.
To say ‘yes’ to one option,
means saying ‘no’ to the other.
It’s a huge responsibility,
and this one seems biggest of them all.
What if I change my mind?
What if I make a mistake?
The agony of indecision!
I feel like a flag in the wind.
I blow one way, then the other.
I ask for wisdom and direction.
Help me to choose well,
not just for me and my own
but for the whole nation.
Amen


Rev Neil Dougall
Convener, Ministries Council

The comments are closed.