Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Obvious Really...

For the last five years, it has never ceased to amaze me how many English-accent people I meet at meetings and events I attend.  I have periodically commented on what has felt a disporprtionate number of English-born people speaking in Baptist or charitable fora. 

The reality is, I'm just a bit thick!  The data shows that there are around 400,000 English-born adults living in Scotland out of a population of roughly 5,000,000 (I've rounded to make the sums easy).  Which means roughly 1 in 12 adults are English-born, so it's pretty inevitable, overall, that I will hear quite a lot of English accents.

What intrigues me is my sense that in the charitable organisations in which I move, the proportion is possibly higher, which gives me pause for thought. 

And if anyone is interested, there are roughly twice as many Scottish-born people living in England but with an overall population ten times that of Scotland, the dilution effect is huge, with less than 1 in 60 people being Scots.

The comments are closed.