Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Awareness Raising...

"6.5 inches and ten minutes"

"I like it beside the settee"

"banana"

"I just saw a streaker running down the high street"

"I'm going to Barbados for nineteen weeks"

 

If you use social media, you may have come across status updates like this and wondered just what on earth they were about. 

  • Thinly veiled innuendo (shoe size expressed in inches and how long you spend styling your hair OR where do you like to put your handbag when you come home)
  • fruit to inidicate marital status (no idea which one corresponds to single, I just guessed one)
  • preposterous status updates (you should not have 'liked' now you must post a forfeit status update from this list) or imaginary holiday destinations for durations dictated by the date of your birthday (month = destination, no idea which is December'; day number = duration in weeks)

So now you know.  Evidently these raise awareness for female breast cancer... because if you 'like' or 'favourite' you will be sent a private/direct message telling you what to post and/or to forward this to all your female friends.

I am sick to the back teeth of these games!  My bc buddies, some of whom are living with secondaries are sick to the back teeth or these games!  We are not your pink sistas (well a few maybe, but most of us are not) and we really don't need some daft game to raise awareness.  In any case, it's not just women who get breast cancer, men do too.

So, if you are still reading (I'll understand totally if people have abandoned this ranty post) and if you want to do some awareness raising, then how about posting this picture...

breast-cancer-symptoms.jpg

You could even donate to a research or support charity (see my side bar) or sign one of the numerous petitions online to improve support for those with secondary bc, which kills 12,000 women every year...

I'm not anti-fun but these games don't achieve anything useful, and I'm on a one woman mission to debunk them!!

Comments

  • I so agree!

The comments are closed.