Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

A Hymn for Today

Sometimes I find hymns, songs, choruses, chants, etc. popping into my consciousness, and today as I looked out of my window at a 'glory in grey' sky this one came to mind...

1  Today I awake
    and God is before me  
    at night, as I dreamt,
    he summoned the day;
    for God never sleeps
    but patterns the morning
    with slithers of gold  
    or glory in grey.

2  Today I arise
    and Christ is beside me.
    He walked through the dark
    to scatter new light.
    Yes, Christ is alive,
    and beckons his people
    to hope and to heal,
    resist and invite.

3  Today I affirm
    the Spirit within me
    at worship and work,
    in struggle and rest.
    The Spirit inspires
    all life which is changing
    from fearing to faith,
    from broken to blest.

4  Today I enjoy
    the Trinity round me,
    above and beneath,
    before and behind;
    the Maker, the Son,
    the Spirit together -
    they called me to life
    and call me their friend.

John L Bell (born 1949) and Graham Maule (born 1958) © 1989 WGRG, Iona Community

The comments are closed.