Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Farewell, Faithful Feline Friend

holly.jpg

 

 

At 9:25 this morning, with her slave and vet-of-choice in attendance, Holly Bethany Cat, manse moggy, internet star (at least in social media land), cuddly companion and faithful feline slipped away peacefully.  Perhaps it is timely that the present Pope has asserted that animals go to heaven, because it is definitely comforting to think that she is now safely with her creator.

Born sometime in 2002, and originally known as Molly, this long-haired black and white cat stole the hearts of all who had the privilege to know her - and, as one of my friends expressed it yesterday, had me wrapped around her little paw.

Her first family decided that three human children and a cat was one too many, so Molly was sent to the Cat's Protection League.  She landed on her paws when a Roman Catholic former nun fell in love with her at first sight, and took her to a home where she was spoiled beyond belief, renamed Holly, and built up a huge fan-base.  Sadly, Holly's new human fell ill and died of cancer, leaving her with the shadow of the cat's home once again looming large. (It's a very lovely cat's home, but it's still a cat's home).

So I offered to take her for a trial, and of course she worked her magic, melting my heart and eventually wheedling her way into my bedroom where she would curl up at my feet and sleep soundly until about 4 a.m. when she'd walk up my legs, settle on my chest and ask for breakfast!

Three and a half years of happy memories, countless photos, more cat toys than Pets R Us, more chicken, ham and bits of fish (along with titbits of pastry and cheese) than a supermarket... Having Holly to share my life has been a real gift of grace - she has comforted me when I was sad, nuzzled me when I was anxious, listened when I needed a confidant beyond the human, and entertained me with her crazy antics.

I will miss her running to greet me, tail up, purr activated.  I will miss the hilarity of her feet skittering on the wooden floor as she ran so fast and got nowhere.  I will even miss the clawing of the rug (and carpet) when she was annoyed.

Rest in peace, faithful, feline friend... and if that there Pope is correct, purr in glory.

Comments

  • A beautiful tribute to a beloved companion. RIP Holly.

  • A lovely tribute.
    Gill
    P.S. The Pope is always right.

The comments are closed.