Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

"The C Word"

Last night's television adapatation of Lisa Lynch's book "The C  Word" and her blog 'Alright Tit' was something I was keen to watch and at the same time a little apprehensive about.  During my treatment I dipped in and out of Lisa's blog, and never linked it, largely because at the time she was in her shortlived NED phase so the degree of resonance wasn't that great.  But there is absolutely no doubt that the blog and the book have been greatly appreciated by countless younger, and not so young, women affected by breast cancer (and their families and friends).

It was good to watch the adaptation - inevitably interpretted and selective - noting the similarities and differences along the way. 

For me there were two scenes that had special resonance...

First was the scene where Lisa comes into the bedroom having washed her hair, and half (or more) of it has gone.  I remembered that all too well.  I blogged about it here.  What I didn't do was to post a photo of what I looked like without a scarf (I changed my profile picture to me wearing a green scarf that went with my suit).  Seeing the actress (who really did have her hair cut, thinned and shaved for the part - much respect) standing there reminded me of a photo I took at the time, which I reproduce here in a 'small' version, as it might be a bit uncomfortable to look at...

almost hairless side.jpg

The other scene that I found very striking was right at the end, when, following the death of one of her online friends, she met the other two.  I am told that this never actually happened, as Lisa's own health was failing and another of the girls died, nonetheless, symbolically it echoed the deep and wonderful friendships that are formed among people arising from shared adversity.  I have enacted similar scenes in Glasgow, Edinburgh, London, Derby and Morecambe.  This photo from last summer is of the Squirrels in London... when we meet again in Blackpool we will be one down, as one girl is no longer with us.  And  we will continue to live, love and laugh.  Because if the C-word teached you nothing else, it's that life is for living.

002.JPG

Comments

  • Thank you for this and all your honesty as you have walked this path. I know your friendship and support has meant so much to many, me included. ( Tony was relieved we didn't watch it)

The comments are closed.