Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Be careful what you wish for...

Twelve years ago I left college to start ministry.  I still remember my tutor asking, at the start of that final year, what sort of church context I was sensing might be my call.  I was clear on two things: not sub-urban and no building projects.  His response was, 'be careful what you wish for'

So I got rural and an (unexpected) building project.  Then I got urban and an (ongoing) building project.

Twelve years of building projects which have loomed large in the background of twelve years of, mostly, positive and productive ministry.

And of course it isn't just me affected by this - it has, and continues to be, a factor in the lives of each congregation.  Endless hours of volunteer energy devoted to plans and architects and solicitors and developers and funders and estate agents and OSCR/Charities Commission/BU Corporation and insurers.  Lots of meetings, lots of praying, lots of heart-searching, lots of letters, emails and phone calls...

So I'm just pausing for a moment to say 'thank you' to those who have served, and still serve, on the relevant committees of each of these churches.  It's not a glamorous task, and it's one that brings with it a huge emotional investment, trying to carry the hopes and dreams, disappointments and frustrations of a whole community.  And also to those who have served, and do serve as Charity Trustees, carrying the huge legal responsibility of enacting the will of the Church Meeting.

Assuming I am able to work until my 'normal' pensionable age, I have around 15 years of ministry left... so, if I include the four years I was at college, roughly as long to go as I've already done.  I hope all of that won't be taken up with building projects, but given my track record and God's weird sense of humour, it quite possibly will!

Comments

  • I remember wanting to be by the sea..I got Leicester, as far from the sea as you can get in England! Next one I didn't wish though I longed to be nearer my family and friends and that I got! ( mind you the homes we have bought since have both been by the sea...rebellious to the end me)

  • I think God has a sense of humour as this has happened to me as well. I didn't want to go to Bristol Uni as it was far too near home hence why I went to North Wales and I ended up going there for college. I didn't want to be anywhere near London I end up in the suburbs. I didn't think I wanted to be a sole minister of a church too early on....well I just give up!

The comments are closed.