Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Communion in Many Kinds

Yesterday morning I shared a short communion service with an older couple in their home, a monthly privilege where we sing well-loved hymns, share bread and 'wine', pray and then have a cuppa and a chat.

Yesterday afternoon I was visiting someone in hospital on the day they were allowed to go 'off the ward' to the hopsital cafe for the first time.  Along with a relative and a friend, we shared a cuppa and a chat, and then I prayed with them.  That was communion too.

This afternoon, with some other volunteers, I'll share tea and biscuits, play dominoes, sing redemption songs and listen to a speaker with a group of people, and quite possibly a dog.  Communion.

Coffee club in the pub, walking club on the hills (on the increasingly rare occasions I get there), meeting to plan a wedding ceremony... communion

Which is partly why I don't 'do' sacraments, or, if I must, why I'll have a 'sacramental universe'.  How is it a 'means of grace' to share in a religious ritual and not to hold the hand of a person who is anxious or grieving?  It isn't.  Pace all my sacramental friends, grace, like communion, comes in many kinds.

The comments are closed.