Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Rebellious Redness... Five Years On

It's getting quite scruffy now, a well-loved, well-worn, permamnently stained, pilled red duffle coat.  Definitely an air of the Paddington bear about it.

Bought in BHS in Coventry on a gloriously sunny Sunday morning five years ago (12th September 2010 for any fellow date-aholics) as a nose-thumb to being sensible, as a 'yaboo sucks' to cancer, as a moment when just for once I followed my heart not me head and treated myself to something I've always wanted.

It has served me well, keeping me warm during the icy cold 2010/11 winter, topping off festive outfits at Christmas, reminding me of how far I've travelled, and of the need to be a bit spontaneous now and then - that a little frivolity is actually good for the soul.  And this week, on a dull, chilly Wednesday, in an otherwise warm and sunny week, it had its first outing of 2015.

So I'm not fussed that the stains won't come out; that it is pilled where the velcro on my wrist splints stuck to the fabric or that it undoubtedly looks a little tired.  It is my rebellious red duffle coat, and I love it!

The comments are closed.