Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Gratitude - and Grief

I am now on a train back to Glasgow after the southbound service eventually terminated at Oxenholme 100 minutes later than it should have arrived. Tragically, someone has lost their life and a train driver has to live with traumatic memories.  For me it was merely mild inconvenience - a missed meeting and some reshceduling but overall nothing to cause me concern.

I grieve, if only fleetingly and superfically, the loss of life, trauma and devastation this morning has wrought for the people directly involved.

I am hugely grateful for mobile phones, wifi, coffee, tea, public toilets, and trains (and Oxford commas).

On the whole, people have been gracious, acknowledging the difference between their own inconvenience and the tragedy affecting people we will never meet.

Tonight I will cuddle my kitties a little more closely, and pause, for a moment, to lift heavenward at least two families for whom today is riven with pain and sorrow.

Kyrie eleison

Christe eleison

Kyrie eleison

 

The comments are closed.