Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

#AdventChallenge Day 4

I begin with a confession... even before today's challenge landed, I had decided I would choose one that did not cost any money today as I have several things coming up that will cost quite a lot.  So I was very relieved to find three challenges that cost zero and actually are, for me anyway, not too demanding.

I opted for 'smile more' partly because I'm aware that I am quite often quite grumpy these days, and partly because it reminded me of a time when my college tutor, having heard me preach in my placement, observed that I hadn't smiled once, which he considered unusual, before noting effectively that the preacher's face becomes as that of Christ for the hearer (yikes!) and if that is always stern....

So today, without becoming a grinning idiot, I'll try to be a bit more smiley!

Sometimes it’s easy to think that to make a difference to someone, you have to do something really big and grand. But it’s not all about big gestures. Sometimes even the smallest thing can make a difference.

There are countless examples in the Bible of how God has used just a small offering to create a big impact – like the packed lunch that fed thousands. A small offering can go much further than we think!

What will you commit to doing today?

 
     
 
 
     
 

1 Hold the door open for someone
Accept challenge >

 

2 Be quick to reply to text messages and emails
Accept challenge >

 

Smile more!
Accept challenge >

 
     
     
 
 
     
 

A view from the Bible

“There is a boy here who has five loaves of barley bread and two fish. But they will certainly not be enough for all these people.” Read more... John 6.9-14

The comments are closed.