Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

What would you choose?

Today's Sunday School led service was great fun (even if two of my ideas for next week are very similar to two of those today!) and included a moment of deep thinking for me.

At one stage we asked to think about a gift we would like to give to someone real or fictional, living or dead, if we could give them absolutely anything.

I sat for a few moments unable to think of anyone or anything.  Then began a rendition of 'In The Bleak Midwinter' on a French horn, one of the few pieces of Christmas music that really pierces my soul.  And so it did, I suddenly found myself thinking of the gift I'd love to be able to give, and the person I'd give it to... each utterly impossible.  I wanted to give to L (as representative of many women I've known and still know) a cure for secondary breast cancer.  It was pie in the sky, wishful thinking, bad theology probably, but it was so.

I am so grateful to Sunday School for creating a safe space for me to dream an impossible dream, and express something I didn't even know I needed to express.

One day there will be a cure.  One day L and others like her will live long, full, happy lives.  Until then, in my prayers, my awareness raising, my peer support and my charitable giving I'll go on doing what I can to bring 'one day' a little nearer.

The comments are closed.