Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Holy Saturday

That limbo time, between a death and a funeral, when you don't quite know what to do or say or be... I guess in some senses that's what Holy Saturday is about.  Perhaps because my Dad died on the Wednesday after Easter, I remember his death around this time rather than at its true date.  In some sense I re-enter the bizarre blend of routine and restlessness, getting on with it and not knowing what to do... I try hard not to pre-empt what I know tomorrow brings, because actually no-one knows what tomorrow brings.  Like countless ministers and Sunday School leaders, today will be spent on final preps for tomorrow.  For now though, these words...

 

Holy Saturday:

The

Long

Aching

Empty

Waiting

 

And

Not

Knowing

 

If

God's

(seeming?)

Absence

Will

Ever

End...

The comments are closed.