Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Grieving and Gratitude... Two Poems

Yesterday evening was the annual service of grieving and gratitude, in which people are invited to recall and reflect upon those they have love and lost, find comfort and hope and continue onwards.  Here are the two poems we used in that context...

The Seasons of Grief

Tom Gordon

 

Every stage of grief has its season,

And every facet of loss has its time.

 

A time for disbelief, and a time for harsh reality.

A time to know, and a time to be consumed by unknowing.

A of clarity, and a time of uncertainty.

A time for public smiles, and a time for private tears.

A time to be thankful, and a time of regret.

A time of giving up, and a time for going on.

A time of living half a life, and a time of wanting to live again.

A time of then, and a time of now.

A time to feel hopeless, and a time to be positive.

A time of looking forward, and a time of wanting life to end.

A time of faith, and a time of doubt.

A time for holding on, and a time for letting go.

A time when steps are light, and a time when limbs are tired.

A time of hazy memories, and a time of instant recall.

A time for living with death, and a time for living with life.

A time of fruitlessness, and a time of growth.

A time of despair, and a time of purpose.

A time of emptiness, and a time of hope.

A time for rage, and a time for peace.

 

Dont Tell Me that I Mourn Too Much

Michael Rosen

 

Don’t tell me that I mourn too much

And I won’t tell you that you mourn too much

 

Don’t tell me that I mourn too little

And I won’t tell you that you mourn too little

 

Don’t tell me that I mourn in the wrong place

And I won’t tell you that you mourn in the wrong place

 

Don’t tell me that I mourn at the wrong time

And I won’t tell you that you mourn at the wrong time

 

Don’t tell me that I mourn in the wrong way

And I won’t tell you that you mourn in the wrong way

 

I may get it wrong, I will get it wrong, I’ve got it wrong

But don’t tell me.

The comments are closed.