Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Easter 2017

The skies are sliver grey, rain falls and a few, brave pigeons fly past... not a story-book Easter morning!

I opted out of the 'early' morning open air service, not because of the drizzly, mizzly, smir of rain, but because timing is too tight when celebrating in a borrowed room.

I was awake before the dawn (though then managed to sleep through my alarm! Despite which, I'd still have made the early service, had I been going), heard the birds trilling their praise, and my cats breathing as they slumbered on...

Surrexit!  He is risen.  Alleluia!

I slipped from my door to drop small boxes of mini eggs on the doormats of my neighbours (and a chewy bone, from the kitties, for the dog downstairs).  Slipper-shod, carefully closing each door, lest it bang and disturb slumbering occupants.  A gleeful, slightly mischievous exercise to bring a little surprise - and hopefully some joy.

Soon I will take my bucket of daffodils and my story bags and join with people I love to celebrate and remember:

Alleluia! Christ is risen!  Surrexit!

Blue skies or grey; sunshine or showers, these do not Easter make.  When Christ rises in the hearts of his people, when hope transcends fear, when life defies death, when love overcomes hate, when goodness is stronger than evil, when light defeats darkness... this is Easter!

 

(Image from web)

The comments are closed.