Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Christmas Eve...

In 2004, circumstances forced a rapid re-planning of Christmas Eve Communion in a borrowed 'Lady Chapel' of an Anglican parish church.  From this emerged a very precious tradition of gathering in someone's home for a very simple communion service, followed by light refreshments.

Moving north, there were other traditions, and so last year was the first time I offered this simple service.  A goodly number of folk braved a wet, dark night to come to my home, and I think a good time was had by all.

I have just set up my kitchen for this evening's candle light Christmas Eve Communion.  As Advent reaches its conclusion, as the destination is in sight, there's not much I like better than to sit quietly in subdued lighting, with people I love, and remember what it's all about.

Advent has been great, lots of fun, every week a pack out... but this is my time, for me, small, intimate, focused in a different way.  And, of course, I want it to bless others, as it blesses me.

The comments are closed.