Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Maundy Thursday... Table for Thirteen

This evening, by fluke or divine inspiration or something, I have a dozen guests joining me for a 'Supper in the Shadows'.

It's a sort of blend of a Passvoer Seder with a Tenebrae Service.

I like that there will be thirteen of us - and of course a place for Elijah, if he shows up.

I like that there will be adults and children.

I like that there are people for whom this is not totally new, and others for whom it is absolutely new.

I like that I get to exercise hospitality, cook new recipes, cheat and buy ready made things I only need to heat, and share with others on this night of nights.

I am humbled that around my table will be people who have experienced the reality of clandestine meetings and the real fear of betrayal or arrest for their disicpleship of Christ.

I am humbled that around my table will be people from different walks of life, different nationalities, different political opinions and so on.

I am humbled that, in some measure, God will touch each and every one of us, whether through a word, a song, a symbol, or a spoonful of stawberries and cream!

The comments are closed.