Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

The Parable of the Dry Feet!

Not the most lovely photo ever, but an honest one - my feet having a much needed soak in warm soapy water ready for me to exfoliate and moisturise them!

I've never been one for pampering, not remotely girly in that regard, but mostly I look after my skin - except my feet.  They get neglected.  Washed daily, dried carefully, then put to work pounding pavements, or climbing stairs, or just generally stuffed into shoes or sandals and stood on.

Recently I had for some reason looked at my feet, and realised what a terrible state they were in - heels so dry they had no colour (thankfully not yet cracked, but it wouldn't be long), toes with dry skin flaking off of them... not a pretty sight.

So I finally made the time to sit down and take care of them.  Twenty minutes soak, the website advised, so I did that. Rub with a pummice stone it said - I don't have one but my 'style file' seemed to do a good enough job.  Massage with oil - the baby oil I keep in for anointing came into its own.  Put on socks and sleep in them - in this heat? Well OK.

I used the twenty minutes to reflect and to pray - something else that all too easily gets squeezed out when I am busy doing good, Godly, stuff. I smiled to myself as I saw a parallel between my soles and my soul, each in need of a little TLC.

The website tells me I need to tend my feet for several days to restore them, which means I need to make time for repeating this procedure daily for a couple of weeks, and thereafter on a regular basis. My soul, likewise, needs time to soak in the love of God, to have its dry edges smoothed, and to be anointed with moisturising, refreshing oil of God's Spirit.

I don't promise you photos of my restored tootsies - I'm not sure they would ever win prizes for their appearance - nor will I share my prayers.  But I do know what both are needed and each is beneficial.

The comments are closed.