Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Pure Privilege

Today was my monthly visit to the residential care home.  Overall it was 'quiet' with very few requests for visits.  But the visits I did have were, as always, privileged.

I spent some time with an elderly woman looking through her precious photo album, and learning about her family.  At the end of our time together, I prayed for her family, as requested.  Then she reached out, seeking a hug, before we parted.

To be trusted by people you know is privilege enough, to have a (virtual, I've met her once before) stranger express gratitude and love is something beyond the norm.

I am learning (or making up as I go along) a lot about chaplaincy, and very grateful to those who allow me into their lives, however fleetingly.

The comments are closed.