Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

A Celtic Advent - Day 2

Communal discernment, Celtic style!  The story of Brendan, who set out on a voyage to the west (the Americas) is a story of someone with a passionate desire.  It is also a story of communal discernment - he took time to reflect with his brother monks in community, and also time to pray together with them, and privately,  to help him discern whether or not this was 'of God.'

A healthy trinity of individual desire, communal discernment and divine calling.  It all feels very 'Baptist' to me.

Whilst I cannot say I have any burning desires or strong passions to do something new or exciting at this point in time, it is healthy and helpful to pause and reflect on what it is God might just be saying to us.

The prayer from the book -

Gracious God, thank you forgiving me the passion to do great things.  Thank you that you desire for me to follow your will.  In all that lies before me in the fuutre, in all that excites me, cause me to pause to check that the path I am about to step upon is the one you lay before me.  Surround me with those who will give wise counsel, and may I be drawn into great things for you.  Amen.

The comments are closed.