Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

A Celtic Advent - Day 7

Today we hear the songs of Elizabeth and Mary, and are reminded that in pretty much every/any people group there is a historical tradition of song, of gatherings in banquet halls or around fires, of bards and makars, minstrels and more. I guess that maybe the British poets laureate and Scotland's makar are in this same tradition of story telling through poetry and song.

The reflection invites us to contemplate the part that song (and let's add poetry, journalling and other creative expressions) plays in our lives.  What spontaneous or recalled music, song, verse arises from within us to worhsip or honour God?

The prayer...

Creator God, who places inspiration for song into the hearts and souls of your people, place in me the song of my heart.  The song you wish me to sing for you, of you, to you. May it well up within me with the sound of heavenly music so that it bursts out of me and comes into being (even if only when no one else is around). Amen.

And a song...

The comments are closed.