Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Forty Days of Photos - Day 6

Faint and fleeting, one of the rainbows I witnessed this morning as I walked to and from the univeristy chapel (where it was my turn to lead prayers).  This one I photographed because I had to turn round to see it, and that seemed somehow fitting - a sense of intentionality rather than happenstance.

Perhaps one aspect of the Advent journey is the 'about face,' the choosing to turn and look in a different direction in the hope of glimsping something more.

Among my favourite words in any hymn are these from 'O love that wilt not let me go...'

O joy that seeks for me through pain,

I dare not hide my face from Thee,

I trace the rainbow through the rain,

And feel the promise is not vain,

That morn shall tearless be.

 

There's a lot of pain in the world at the moment, a lot of hurt and hurting people, a lot of need for hope and glimpses of a brighter tomorrow.

Now, of course, the rain has all dried up, the sky is blue and it's a glorious day... a high speed version/vision of the hope of the rainbow and the hymn, I guess.

The comments are closed.