Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

A Celtic Advent - Day 12

Today's reflection is on the presentation of Jesus in the Temple, and asks what (or if) we believe about a divine plan for our lives. Are we, like Simeon and Anna, patiently waiting for God to reveal something to us, to make sense of our lives, or something else?

I have to admit to being a bit ambivalent here.  Does God have a plan for my life?  In general terms, yes, I am sure that's so - a plan that I discover my identity, fulfill my potential, play my part in the in-breaking of the Kingdom.  But in terms of specifics, do this thing on that day, then no, I don't think so. I believe in free will, which means that God will allow me to make my own choices.  I also believe that God works with me in all things, sometimes having to find new ways to get me back on track when I wander off in a way that's not helpful or healthy.  Quite how that might work, I don't know how to explain.

So, anyway, here is the prayer for today from the book...

Great and loving God, thank you for the care you place on my life from the moment my existence began. Thank you for the care that you give me as my life unfolds day by day.  May I know your presence with me as I walk this path, and may I know your word spoken into my life by others to help me along this path.  Amen.

The comments are closed.