Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Forty Days of Photos - Day 12

High road or low road? Park or pavement?  Which would you choose?

This small park lies very close to my home.  It's a park I walked round during times of post surgery recovery, and, longer ago, when 'chemo-flop' meant my daily walk was a few minutes round the block.  It is a park where, not long after I moved to Glasgow, a young woman was murdered.  It is a park where children play, dogs are exercised and  people take short (or long) cuts en route to other places.

The Advent journeys we walk are always our own, there is no 'one size fits all.'  Even if we all chose the same path, our experiences of it would be informed by our own stories.

I quite like walking through this park - so long as it is light.  Once it is dark it feels menacing, probably (relatively recent) because I know part of its history.  Maybe Advent is a bit like that too - even if metaphorically.  Even the familiar route can feel very different if life is 'light' or 'dark' in feel.

However Advent feels for you this year, I hope that your journey is more light than dark, and that you arrive safely at its end in just a month's time.

The comments are closed.