Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

A Celtic Advent - Day 33

Today we think about the idea of the 'anam chara' or 'soul friend' - a person with whom we feel able to totally open and honest, and to whom we make ourselves accountable.  Seemingly, some ancient celtic Christians saw this person as their 'head' - not as in 'boss', but as in the thing on top of their shoulders.

I'm not sure I have ever found a 'soul friend'.  A few friendships have come close, at least for a season, but there has always been, for me at least, a little bit of holding back just in case whatever it might be would be a step too far for the other person. 

I have certainly appreciated and valued over the years those who served as 'personal tutors' at college, as 'mentors' in industry and in ministry, and as my (current and continuing) 'pastoral supervisor'.  Each of them has brought much more to the relationship than merely being a sounding board. And each of them has been, in some sense, official, doing this professionally, so 'friendship' is a bonus not a given.

I continue to appreciate the friendship of many people, especially those who are close enough to share some of what goes on in private as well as in public. Again, there is some degree of mutuality, a lot of laughter and love - and the occasional tricky negotiation when things go awry. Their backgrounds and worldviews are diverse and not all of them share any of my faith or many of my motivators, so the 'soul' aspect can be lacking or absent.

For me, overall, the balance is more-or-less there. No single, identifable person who can be/do all I need/want, but all sorts of people who contribute to my wellbeing.  That seems good to me.

Today's prayer:

Loving heavenly Father, brother Christ, Holy Spirit healer, thank you for the love and relationship I have with you.  May I share that same love with my anam chara, my Soul Friend. May I know the help of another to live a life of holiness and purity, that I too can ensure that my inner self is ready for your return. Amen.

The comments are closed.