Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

At Home in Lent - Day 30

The television - once the box in the corner around which families gathered, now a flat screen operated by remote control and slowly (or not so slowly maybe) being replaced by computers, tablets and smart phones.

A thing that enables us to see things happening in far away places, that can entertain us, and can educate us.  A thing that has the potential, if we let it, to lure us into forms of idolatry and greed.  And a thing that, if we get too close (or with flat screens at the wrong angle) distorts into pixels or blurry messes.

Sometimes what we need is the longer view; sometimes what we need is to turn off the devices and go out into the real world; sometimes what we need is to reflect on the influence we allow this device to have in our daily lives.

Recently, for the first time, I watched the BBC Parliament channel - it was enlightening if not edifying. Usually, during my meal breaks I'll watch 'Bargain Hunt' or 'Pointless' - entertaining if not educational. Most days I'll watch at least one national and 'regions and nations' news broadcast.  And today, if I remember to turn on my TV there's a new series of 'Scot Squad' just waiting to have me in tucks of laughter.

God of the scientist, thank you for the people who discovered the 'magic' of broadcasting, and for those who saw its potential for education, entertainment and peace-making.  As I idly switch on my TV, for whatever reason, help me to recognise its value - and its harmful potential - in informing and shaping my everyday life. Amen.

The comments are closed.