Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Future-proofing?

Ever since we organised my Mum's funeral, and I discovered just how easy it was with a pre-paid plan, so that all we had to do was fix a date and buy flowers, I've been meaning to do likewise.  So today I did.  Just in case anyone puts two and two together and makes a very large number, I am still a NED, and generally still fit and well - this is just me trying to ensure that one day, hopefully a long way off, things will be fairly straight forward for whoever has to organise my funeral.

The woman at the Funeral Director's could not have been more helpful or more straight-forward (she seemed doubly pleased when I said I really doubted I'd move back south of the border, even though I would always be English). 

So now it's all set up - you buy funeral plans online not in the FD's apparently.  And because it's Co-op, and because I paid £1 to become a member of the Co-op, I get a small discount.  And because there was a discount code thingy, I'll be sent £120 worth of co-op gift vouchers to spend on food!!

When I first made a will (about thirty years ago!) it felt a bit like tempting providence.  This doesn't.  It actually just gives me peace of mind.  The decisions are made and no-one as to worry about 'what she'd have wanted'.

It also means that I won't be worrying about keeping enough savings back to cover the costs... almost the opposite of the 'bigger barns' parable - which in turn means that I will be able to enjoy some treats from time to time rather than endlessly saving for a rainy day I won't see!

The comments are closed.