Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Brushing up my French... And my OT too...

According to the little green owl called Duo, I have now done some French lessons every day for 21 days.  Some days I do the minimum consistent with my 'target' of two lessons a day, which means roughly 40 sentences to translate, other days are may do as many as ten or twelve lessons.

On the plus side, it's starting to get easier - my vocabulary has survived forty years of neglect, and the verb endings, at least for present tense, are coming back well now.

This evening I've been amused by sentences such as, "you need to take more exercise!" "you need to drink more water!" and, best of all, "you will be cold in that dress!"  Who knew the little cartoon owl was actually everyone's mother!!

In contrast, the Greek has stalled and I'm taking  break and then I'll go back to the beginning and start again.  My comprehension is fine, but I haven't really absorbed any verb endings, reflexives or noun agreements.

 

I have also been listening to largish chunks of Bible every day, read to me by David Suchet.  Whilst I have slept through a fair amount of Leviticus and Numbers, it has been surprising how much has been more familiar than I expected.  I am enjoying listening rather than reading, hearing someone else's idea of where to emphasise or pause, slow down or get louder.  And it's definitely feeding some inner need.

Maybe my next challenge will be to listen to the Bible in French... or even Greek... or maybe not!!

The comments are closed.