Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Mysterious Ways!

It is certainly the case that God works in mysterious ways, and no more so than in the past few days.

On Sunday, we explored 'The Compassionate Life' - or social justice spirituality - and one way or another I've found myself 'putting my money where my mouth is" in a number of ways.

As part of my office declutter, I culled the vast majority of my craft stuff, and a fair amount of stationery, something that felt right to do at this time.  Yesterday someone collected that huge stash of stuff and took away.  Already someone has said that their prayers were answered to receive a small proportion of that stuff.  Yes, that makes me feel good (it's nice to be able to do things like this) but it also made me have a little 'hmm' moment because of the timing.  Lord, you sometimes speak in spontaneous desires to get rid of stuff...

This morning an email landed in my inbox, inviting me to sign something (currently embargoed) that is very public and overtly political... which, given Sunday's service, well, hmm...  Again, the timing... I set the service theme before I could have known how things would emerge over these months. 

It's not that I think God neatly lined up all the timings, rather I think that God made me alert to things that otherwise I might have let slip past or shied away from, because it just so happened that the timings coincided.

So, whether its the craft stuff, or the signature on a letter, or any of the other 'hmm' moments that may yet arise this week, somewhere in it all God is active.

Oh, and yes, we're singing the song 'Lord you sometimes speak in....' this Sunday coming.

The comments are closed.