Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

How it begins...

My Mum (left), aunt and uncle - two English, one Scottish, all half-Jewish. 

In the light of recent news reports and things said by powerful people the world over, I am very much reminded of the words of Pastor Martin Neimoeller ...

 

First they came for the Jews
and I did not speak out
because I was not a Jew.

Then they came for the Communists
and I did not speak out
because I was not a Communist.

Then they came for the trade unionists
and I did not speak out
because I was not a trade unionist.

Then they came for me
and there was no one left
to speak out for me.

 

It begins by defining someone as 'other', it potentially ends in genocide - which is why today I feel moved to join a political protest.  Whatever our views on the EU or the UK, or anything else, our shared humanity has to come first.  For me, that means today I will join thousands of others to speak out for what we believe to be true.

The comments are closed.