Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Symbols (and non-symbols!)

A mix of symbols and non-symbols here - though of course the reader is free to interpret as they feel appropriate.

Wearing my ordination ring is something I almost never do since I developed lymphoedema in my right hand, but today it is on, and will be hidden under my compression glove most of the day.  A decade on from the Baptist Assembly where I was welcomed to Scotland, it seemed right to wear it, even if no-one will see it.

Purple nail varnish - a nod to Violet Hedger and Edith Gates, at least indirectly.  I also have a purple cardigan and a purple pashmina... symbols of the reality that women have been ordained as Baptist Ministers for a century, at least in some parts of these islands.

The bandage is just a bandage!  Yesterday, whilst slicing some bread to make toast, I cut my finger enough that it needs a bit of protection and not just a plaster.  Once the glove is on, it's pretty much invisible.  

Today is the 150th Anniversary celebration of the Baptist Union of Scotland, and I have the privilege of being one of the Communion Servers.  I hope the purple nail varnish doesn't put anyone off their bread/wine, and is suitably tempered by the plain black dress I'll also be wearing.

Today, as we give thanks for the vision of those who founded this Union of churches, I will also be giving thanks for the people and churches who were, are, and always will be the grit in the oyster that brings forth the pearl in due season.

Very proud of my/our church, and all it contributes to Baptist life in Scotland - we have more than a few metaphorical cut fingers, methinks, but we continue to fulfil our God-given calling.

The comments are closed.