Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Eleven Years and counting...

This morning, I am sitting in my kitchen after a rare 'social Zoom call' with those friends with whom I have been in regular contact the longest. 

As I do so, I am remembering another Saturday 20th June, eleven years ago, when I sat in my office and wondered what was happening in a church in Glasgow where a Special Church Meeting was going to vote on whether or not to call me as their minister.

I remember the nervous, anxious wait, and I remember the unbridaled joy when the phone came through to say 'yes'.

Eleven years on, what a lot has changed! And what a lot has stayed the same.

As I sit in my kitchen and reflect, I give thanks to the faithful God who called me, and who has stayed with me.

As I look back, I give thanks for those who have called me out when I have been wrong or out of line.

As I look back, I am give thanks for wonderful opportunities I have had, which I'd never have imagined possible.

And as I look forward, I commend myself and all the Gatherers to God's safe-keeping.

The comments are closed.