Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

24 / 18

It's 24 years today since I heard, with a clarity I had never heard before, and have rarely heard since, the voice of God calling me to ordained ministry.

Yesterday it was 18 years since I made my ordination vows.

Over those years the world has changed, and I have changed, but the call hasn't and the sincerity and seriousness of the vows hasn't.

No cakes, no parties, no gifts or cards, it's not that kind of a birth-day.  But lots of food for thought, and lots to be thankful for.

Today I was reading yesterday's portion of 'Honest Advent' which focussed on Mary's morning sickness, and the strange mix of nausea and joy that comes with pregnancy - something that serves as a metaphor for the outworking of a 'yes' to God's call on our own lives.

Turning 18 yesterday does, I guess, mean I am now a proper grown up minister type person - it's been an adventure this far, and that much isn't likely to change any time soon.

The comments are closed.